NeSCoR Dissertation Award


November 2017, NeFCA dissertation award

In previous years, a NESCOR dissertation award (for Dutch dissertations) and a Flemish Dissertation Award were awarded alongside each other. From 2017, one NeFCA Dissertation Award will be awarded for Dutch and Flemish dissertations together. The award aims to acknowledge excellent dissertations in the field of Communication Sciences and wants to recognize the quality of doctoral research in the Netherlands and Flanders. For further information see: NeFCA Awards

Anika Batenburg is the winner of the NeSCoR Dissertation Award 2015, for her PhD dissertation
“Being on-line together”. (VU University, 2015).

Marijn Meijers is the winner of the NeSCoR Dissertation Award 2014, for her PhD dissertation “On justifying eco-unfriendly behaviors“. (University of Amsterdam, 2014).

Matthijs Elenbaas is the winner of the NeSCoR Dissertation Award 2013, for his PhD dissertation “Dynamics of political information transmission: How media coverage informs public judgments about politics“. (University of Amsterdam, 2013).

Linda Bos is the winner of the NeSCoR Dissertation Award 2012, for her PhD dissertation “Public images of right-wing populist leaders. The role of the media”. (University of Amsterdam, 2012).

Esther Rozendaal is the winner of the NeSCoR Dissertation Award 2011, for her PhD dissertation “Advertising literacy and children’s susceptibility to advertising”. (University of Amsterdam, 2011).

Alexander van Deursen is the winner of the NeSCoR Dissertation Award 2010, for his PhD dissertation “Internet skills, vital assets in an information society”. (University Twente, 2010).

Schuck, A.R.T. is the winner of the NeSCoR Dissertation Award 2009, for his PhD dissertation “Referendum Campaign Dynamics. News media, campaign effects and direct democracy”. (University of Amsterdam, 2009).

Gabi Schaap is the winner of the NeSCoR Dissertation Award 2008, for his PhD dissertation “Interpreting television news”. (Radboud University Nijmegen, 2008).

Rens Vliegenthart is the winner of the NeSCoR Dissertation Award 2007, for his PhD dissertation “Framing Immigration and Integration: Facts, Parliament, Media and Anti-Immigration Party Support in the Netherlands”. (VU University, 2007).

Stijn Reijnders is the winner of the NeSCoR Dissertation Award 2006, for his PhD dissertation “Holland op de helling. Televisieamusement, volkscultuur en ritueel vermaak”. (University of Amsterdam, 2006).

Roderick I. Swaab is the winner of the NeSCoR Dissertation Award 2005 for his PhD dissertation“Communication and negotiation in groups and teams: Causes and consequences of shared cognition and group solidarity (University of Amsterdam, 2005).

Eligible are

  • PhD students having been registered as such within NeSCoR;
  • The dissertation must have been defended in the previous year;
  • The dissertation must have been defended at one of the NeSCoR locations:
    the department of communication at the Erasmus University Rotterdam, Free University Amsterdam, Radboud University Nijmegen, University of Amsterdam or University of Twente.


The winner will be recognized by NeSCoR at the conference Etmaal voor de Communicatiewetenschap (24 Hours of Communication Sciences). The winner of this award will receive:

  • A document & feature on the NeSCoR website
  • € 250,- worth of book vouchers

The Jury

There is a peer-jury for this award, consisting of a group of 5 volunteering NeSCoR PhD students. The jury is autonomous in its selection criteria as well as its decision. The composition of the jury will change annually.


Only NeSCoR faculty and Ph.D. students are eligible to nominate dissertations for this award. Each staff member or Ph.D. student can nominate one dissertations at max. Anonymous nominations will not be considered. Self-nominations are strongly invited for this award. But nominating a (former) colleague for this award is also possible.

A nomination package consists of:

  • Full reference to the doctoral dissertation (name of author, title of dissertation, where the dissertation was defended, at which date the dissertation was defended, names of promoters and co-promoters);
  • Max. 5 lines of text supporting the nomination. Please note that the motivation should address the quality of the dissertation in terms of theory advances, design, methodology etc. (that is to say, please do not include author-specific factors, such as for instance that he/she completed this work in spite of illness, or other factors that relate to the author instead of the dissertation).